How to Build a Blog — A Complete Beginner’s Guide to Hugo

Ibby EL-Serafy
18 min readMar 11, 2020
The blog you’ll end up with.

In this guide I’m going to explain how you can build your own blog using a tool called Hugo and then put it online. You don’t need any previous experience to follow along, just a willingness to learn.

I think Hugo is a great alternative to Wordpress and site builders like Squarespace or Wix. Although there can be more of a learning curve, in return you get much more control, flexibility and ownership over your blog. I’ll go into more detail on the differences in this guide.

Even if you’re not very technical I think you’d wrap your head around the basics within a day or less.

By the end of this guide you’ll have built a basic blog and put it online. This is what the finished product will look like.

If you hit a snag in the tutorial and can’t figure it out feel free to drop me an email or leave a comment. I’ll do my best to help!

If you’re interested, you can find the source code for this tutorial here.

What is Hugo?

Hugo is a static site generator. It’s a tool which combines a bunch of files and turns them into HTML, CSS and JavaScript files. Or in other words it uses these files to generate a static site.

--

--